2016-2017 Leadership Development Program

We are pleased to announce the graduate students who have been selected for the next cohort of Leadership Development scholars.  These students were selected to implement their proposed professional development project, participate in a leadership workshop, and create a personalized leadership development plan:

Alma Beciragic, Martha Tomlinson, Mikayla Armstrong (Environmental Science & Engineering) – What’s missing in STEM education? Complementing technical skills with confidence and harnessing a sense of belonging

Leah Bowers (Chemistry) – Double Minority STEM Mentoring Symposium

Jenni Reiff and Richelle Suttle (Occupational Therapy) – How to Ask: Women’s Salary Negotiation Workshop

Nick Klus (School of Pharmacy) – UNC Pharmaceutical Sciences Expo

Nick Klus, James Beaudoin, and Cameron Bloomquist (School of Pharmacy) – Cross Cultural Leadership Development

Tripp Tuttle (School of Information and Library Science) – Visual Scholarly Communication Boot Camp

The goal of the Leadership Development Scholars Program is to provide graduate and professional students with authentic experiences that will help build their leadership skills. The main focus of this opportunity is to have students develop a specific project that will contribute to the professional development of their peers.

LDSP Scholars will:

  • Implement the proposed project and evaluate outcomes
  • Participate in a leadership workshop designed for this group of scholars
  • Engage in on-going communications with other scholars and program director
  • Document reflections about their own leadership skills
  • Highlight this experience as developing transferable skills in job search

Past scholars selected and project descriptions 2015-2016

Past scholars selected and project descriptions 2014-2015

Past scholars selected and project descriptions 2013-2014